Natural History Museum

One of my classmates here really wanted to see dinosaur skeletons (as she hasn’t seen any in real life), so when she found out there were some on exhibition at the Brussels Natural History Museum, we decided to pay it a visit. We walked through Leopold Park (I think that’s what it’s called) trying to find the entrance to the museum. On arrow pointed in one direction, but then another arrow pointed in another direction … we were confused, but it was well worth the trip because the park is really pretty now that spring is here.

The museum is pretty big, bigger than I originally thought. The interior design of the museum is actually quite nice, especially the dinosaur exhibit, which is very impressive. It’s got more of a modern and industrial feel when compared to the Smithsonian Natural History Museum in D.C. Alas, I don’t have a camera, so I usurped my friend’s camera and took a bajillion pictures. But it’s still on her camera, and she’s heading off to London and Greece tomorrow, so it’ll be after spring break before I can get the pictures. A sample, from the museum’s website ~

They also had a mammal exhibit, evolution exhibit, and a north/south pole exhibit (and more, but I can’t remember off the top of my head). It was very nice, and there were students (little and big) on field trips in there. We felt like little kids as well. There’s just something really awe-inspiring when you’re in the same room as those full-scale dinosaur skeletons. They also had a room full of whale skeletons, and that was pretty awesome as well. You feel tiny in comparison.

After the museum, it was still early, so we walked through the park and went to Paul bakery where we just drank some coffee, ate some bread, and talked about … life. Then it was shopping time, so we went to the shopping street in Brussels (Rue Neuve) where I ended up getting allergies along with socks. Hah. So after that, we decided to head back to Leuven since two of us still had to pack for their trips tomorrow. They’re skipping classes so they can go home earlier *gasp!* Hahaha. 😛 Their spring break has officially started … mine, not so much. booo!

Overall it was a really nice day. The weather was totally cooperative as well. 😀 I love Belgium when it’s sunny, blue skies, and warm. Good times! But super tiring. I am all pooped out right now. >.<

