Admin vs. Student World

A warning: this entry will be unrelated to the main topic of the blog .. ah who am I kidding, my food entries are all unrelated to the main purpose of the blog, but whatever, lack of traveling makes for difficulty in posting about traveling.

So having now worked the administrative side in a university for a few weeks, I’ve got to see things from a different angle. As students, we were always like, why is the admin SO SLOW about getting transcripts or scholarships or whatever to us?! It can’t be thaaaaat hard. Well, it’s possibly because they’re understaffed, overworked, and not entirely sure what’s happening. Maybe it’s just the school I’m working at but things are really disorganized. Things are also always changing. There’s no set rule or standard operating procedure; it’s always subject to change. And when things are so unstable, it’s difficult to get things done fast and well.

For example, we take inbound exchange students, mostly those who want to intern at a hospital. This area has been relegated to me since I started working, but I three weeks in, I still have no idea what I’m doing. We have three affiliated hospitals, but each has their own way of doing things when it comes to foreign students interning there. Sometimes, the students contact them directly; other times, they contact us and we send the apps to the appropriate school. Sometimes, the hospitals pay for their dorm fees, other times, certain department within the university pays. Everything is pretty much done on a case by case basis, which although is nice since it is tailored to each students’ specialty or needs, makes life more difficult for me and all involved in the administrative side. It also makes things way less efficient. Gah!

Ah, this had descended into a rant-type post, which I didn’t plan on doing. I just wanted to say that it’s different working as an administrator. You get to see a different side of things than when you were a student. Definitely lends a certain amount of respect to the admins at my old schools. So, here’s a belated, but well-meaning, THANK YOU! And apologies for any and all impatience encountered.

