Mother’s Day – Brasserie Liz & Toscana

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there. 🙂

Our celebration this year was two parts. Why, you ask? Because life is so full of uncertainties! So, we originally had planned to eat Mother’s Day dinner on Saturday at Brasserie Liz, which we had been to before and quite enjoyed it. However, the night of the dinner, the dad gets called into work for a meeting with the bosses (it’s Saturday, for crying out loud!) and cannot get out in time for the dinner. So, the mom, sister, and I had the first part of Mother’s Day dinner. Then, the dad wanted to do another, and he suggested steak at Toscana.

Brasserie Liz

This place always has a different menu every time we go, and Mother’s Day was definitely no exception. Previously, though, the sets were for two people, and if you had a third person, you could just order a la carte. Mother’s Day menu was per person (NT 1080/person), and it included a drink, which you could choose from white wine/red wine/juice, appetizers with the choice of Escargot/Quiche/Nicoise Salad, mushroom cream soup, main course with the choice of white fish/mustard chicken/lamb stew, dessert with the choice of mille feuille/cream puff (there is a term specific for this type of puff, but I cannot for the life of me remember it, ahhhhh), and coffee/tea.

Between the three of us, we pretty much ordered it all except for the lamb stew. And once again, it did not disappoint. The escargot was perfect. So much flavor and a bit of crunchiness thanks to the bread crumbs on top. It was so good that I pretty much wiped it clean with the bread. This was great, especially after the disappointingly bland escargot I had at Saveurs. The main course was, unfortunately, not as good as the one we had on our last visit, but it was still decent. I ordered the fish, and the only negative thing about it was that it wasn’t very hot. By the time dessert rolled around, we were all stuffed up to our necks, and my mom didn’t even have the space to finish the dessert. Overall, a very good dinner. Oh! They also gave us a six inch cake in celebration for Mother’s Day. It is now sitting in our fridge, and we don’t know what to do with it.

20120513-232710.jpg

20120513-232724.jpg

20120513-232746.jpg

Toscana

My dad suggested this place because, well, in Taiwan, currently steaks are not high on everyone’s list, especially steak from the States. This restaurant, located at the Sherwood Hotel, has dry-aged steak from Nebraska. My family is an avid fan of steak, and we’ve all lived in America for some time, so the whole worried about eating American steak is definitely not an issue for us. So we went, and I think dry-aged steak is just not for me. We got the 36 oz dry-aged T-Bone to share between the four us. Don’t get me wrong, the steak itself was tender and cooked very well, but it just wasn’t juicy enough for me. Even being cooked closer on the rare side, there wasn’t much juice. I guess I like my steaks very juicy. Something I learned today.

However, despite the somewhat disappointment of the steak, the salads we ordered were amazing. Foie gras with scallop salad drizzled in olive oil and salad with grilled vegetables. The foie gras was fantastic. I’m not even sure how to go about describing why it was fantastic, but it was just so good. Flavor was there, texture was there …. And the grilled vegetables were great, partly due to the tomato sauce that you dipped it in. A little bit sweet, a little bit sour, it just went very well with the grilled mushrooms, grilled paprikas, and other grilled veggie goodness. The soup was decent. I got the lobster soup, but I was expecting it to be lobster bisque. Instead, it had a small lobster with other seafood in it. Not bad, but just not what I expected. The onion soup that the dad and sister got were on the sweet side, so I was not a fan.

And finally, the best part of the meal (aside from the wine from Chile, which was also pretty damn good) was the dessert. We were debating whether or not to get one because we were oh-so-full, but the sister and I decided to share a bitter chocolate flan with vanilla ice cream. Boy am I glad we did. It was heaven on a plate. It’s basically a warm cake with melted chocolate goodness inside, but it wasn’t overly sweet chocolate. They probably used dark chocolate, so all that mixed together with the ice cold vanilla ice cream was just orgasmic (for a lack of a better word). I would definitely go back there just for that dessert. However, I doubt that will be any time soon because the place is pricey. And by pricey, I mean pricey. About the same, if not more so, than No. 168 Steakhouse. But it was a great meal and well worth it … in my opinion anyway.

20120513-232812.jpg

20120513-232849.jpg

20120513-232827.jpg

20120513-232857.jpg

20120513-232910.jpg

