Bali > Day Two

I think the reason I couldn’t make myself write about the trip right after it happened is because it’s really hard to decide what pictures to use. I think I took like 600+ photos during the five day vacation, and when the trip was still fresh in my mind, every picture held some meaning so I wanted to use them all! Either that or I was too lazy to pick out the photos and summarize the trip coherently and succinctly. Probably the latter …. Anyway, moving on …..

After our first half day spent at the hotel, we decided to spend our second day exploring some of the more famous sites of Bali. The first time around we didn’t really leave the resort. So! We rented a car and driver and did some exploring. But first, we went on a quick visit to the beach … and it was so so so beautiful and peaceful.

Image

Blue sea, blue skies, nearly-white sandy beach … Doesn’t it just make you want to go and dig your toes into the sand or jump into the waves? Just looking at the photos makes me wanna go back.

Image

The Intercontinental Hotel has its own private stretch of beach that is kept clean (they had employees out there picking up the trash and debris brought in by the waves each morning) and flattened out by these cows (ox?). Moooo. We were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of them.

Image

Breakfast was accompanied by these fine musicians playing on an instrument of which I have no idea what it’s called. But it sounded nice! They play next to a little building that housed the bathrooms for swimmers and beach goers. They also always smile at you whenever you walk by. So, on the fourth day when we spent the entire morning at the beach/pool, after each trip to the bathroom, we’d walk out and they’d smile at us. What an incredibly awkward experience ….

Image

Anyway, our first stop was the Monkey Sanctuary at Ubud. The monkeys were not shy at all. I think they’re so used to humans that they have no fear. Tourists can buy bananas and hold them above their heads so that the monkey climbs up their body and eats the banana while sitting on the tourist’s head. I did not try that. I have a slight fear of being too close to monkeys ever since I was a kid and got scratched in a face by a monkey in Thailand. Yup. Traumatizing! Doesn’t help that these monkeys were chasing each other around, screeching at the top of their lungs.

Image

“Let me get that bug off your head, dear.” Nom nom nom.

Image

“Ah, sunbathing. Nice, warm sun … “

Image

“Oh my gawd, scary tourists pointing boxes at us. Where’s mommy?!”

Image

After lunch, we visited a temple at the top of the main street in Ubud before heading down the street to buy souvenirs. The temples in Bali are pretty amazing. Never seen anything else like it.

Image

Intricate carvings in the walls.

Image

Statues were plentiful and sometimes they would be wearing cloth. Not sure why …. We probably should have done more research before heading out.

Did not get photos of the shopping since we were busy shopping, but Ubud does have a lot of handcrafted goodies. Little figurines, scarves, etc. Everything a tourist needs to buy as souvenirs for friends back home.

Image

Another famous tourist trap, er, attraction, is the Tanah Lot Temple. It’s a temple located on a rock out in the sea. The view is amazing as the sun sets, so naturally there were lots of people standing around waiting for the sun to set. As we were on a tight schedule, we couldn’t wait around. But the view was still amazing.

Image

Beautiful~~~~~

Image

While looking through my photos on Facebook, I realized I posted no photos of the temple itself. Yup, I am stupid. All the other photos are on my external HD which is inaccessible on the computer I’m currently using, so, this photo will have to suffice. On the left of the photo is where the temple is. It is surrounded by water, as you can kind of see …. and there were some people sitting around it but no boats, so I assume at low tide there is probably a way for people to cross over to it.

After Tanah Lot, it was time for dinner at Kuta where all the clubs and bars and noisy nightlife is situated. Of course, as we went with the mom, all we did was have a quick dinner at one of the restaurants and headed back to the hotel.

Day Three … more touristy stuff in rainy weather!

