Bali > Day 5 & Fooding (Part I)

Day five, we decided to enjoy the beach/pool until the very last possible minute, so we woke up, ate breakfast, and went to the beach and pool. And then it was time to say goodbye to beautiful Bali……

Image

This was definitely very hard to say goodbye to (T^T) … Especially with the idea of going back to work at the forefront of our minds even before we left the island.

Anyway! Happy thoughts! It’s time for the food portion of the journey. I must say, fooding in Bali is kind of pricey. Probably because we ate mostly in touristy places or hotels …. But the food was still quite nommers.

The first night we ate at the hotel’s restaurant. The room came with either a complimentary dinner or complimentary massage. However, since we only booked one room, and generally a room is for two people, only two people got to enjoy the complementary goodies. Which meant we still had to pay for the third person. Kinda sucks, but can’t really argue with policy. So! We decided on complimentary dinner because we all have to eat, so why not two of us eat for free? Heh.

Image

Shrimp crackers!!! I love shrimp crackers. They can do no wrong in my eyes, except for being super unhealthy, but meh, it was vacation!!

Image

Non-alcoholic drinks! The mom doesn’t like us drinking so much, plus the alcoholic ones are far more expensive. I have already forgotten what these two drinks were, but I think one was a tropical fruit one and the other a citrus-y one. Easy to tell which is which, eh?Image

The complimentary dinner was this grilled fish dish.

Image

Curry for the non-complimentary dish.

Image

Banana split! Om nom nom nom.

Breakfast every mornings was buffet style. After the first two days, everything started tasting the same, but that’s not to say their selection wasn’t large because it was pretty big. But still, you can’t be interested in all the things they offer, so in the end we found ourselves eating the same things every morning. At least the coffee was all you can drink …. COFFEEEEE.

Image

The buffet area. More food on the right side and left side (off the photo).

Image

They had an omelette/egg station that freshly made omelettes and eggs to your liking.

 Image

This is generally what I ate every morning with some variations …

Image

This was a local fruit drink of which I have forgotten the name of. I’m not sure I ever knew it, but I remember it tasted good! Had a cinammon-y flavor to it. They waitresses who poured these drinks were dressed traditionally and also poured the juice from these jugs that looked traditional as well. I know, I am horrible at remembering details and describing them. (>O<)

Image

For lunch, we ate at Bebek Bengil in Ubud after our monkey sanctuary visit. Our driver said this was a very touristy spot, especially for Taiwanese tourists. He was right. It almost felt like we were back in Taiwan. HA!

Image

We were seated on the floor of a pagoda with a huge wooden table and cushions for seats. It was, as is the norm, a very hot and humid day, so we ordered ice cold refreshing drinks. I got the iced tea, which in Indonesia means black tea with lots of sugar. I love it, except I asked for sugar on the side or else I’d die from its sweetness. The sister ordered a gingery drink because she had a cold which started before we left for Bali and continued after we returned to Taiwan. Poor sister. At least my allergy meds ended up coming in handy and helped her with her sinus problems!

Image

The mom ordered the shrimp.

Image

The sister ordered traditional nasi goreng (fried rice).

 Image

And I got the crispy duck. I remember it being a bit on the dry side, but still quite flavorful.

Image

The side dishes for the duck, which were all pretty spicy. I wish I weren’t such a wimp when it comes to spicy food. Woe.

Fooding in Bali, to be continued …….

