Home Cooking – Balsamic Chicken Drumettes & Avocado and Tomato Salad

Made two more smaller dishes that don’t take too much time (yay!)

First up, balsamic chicken drumettes (recipe from Food Network, which I’ve discovered is my favoritest TV channel ever … cannot stop watching). I bought some drumettes, but didn’t really have any idea about how to cook it, so I google’d it. This recipe was the first one in the search results and is fairly simple.

I had no honey, brown sugar, rosemary, sesame seeds, or parsley. Instead, I used cane sugar and sesame oil and skipped out on the rest. I have no idea what the original tastes like, but this version is super duper yummy. The sauce is amazeballs!! I think I will have to make it again sometime soon. Anyway, I left it in the oven for a tad too long, so the skin got burnt. But regardless, it still tasted amazing. Did I mention how fantastic this sauce is? Never thought that balsamic vinegar, soy sauce, and sesame oil could taste so good together. But they do!!!!

20140104-185411.jpg

Not the best photo … Tastes better than it looks, for sure.

A friend brought this avocado and tomato salad to a pot luck once, and I’ve made it two or three times already since. It’s nice and refreshing and oh-so-simple to make. Just dice up the tomatoes, avocado, and onions. Mix it up with some balsamic vinegar, and it’s good to go. Of course it’s even better after it’s been refrigerated for a couple of hours. Put it on toasted bread with some ham, and it makes for a perfect breakfast or light lunch.

20140104-185421.jpg

And it looks so pretty! Look at those colors. I like having color in my food. 🙂

