Home Cooking – Poached Eggs

Second attempt at making poached eggs. This is one skill I really need to get down because I love poached eggs! And when I do succeed, there is this great sense of accomplishment. But it is difficult, and my success rate thus far is 50%.

Each time, I make two poached eggs, and the first one is always super fail. This time around, I popped the egg, so the yolk started streaming out. Nooooo, not the yolk!!! 😦 But the second one was far more successful.

20140105-130447.jpg

I use the recipe from Smitten Kitchen, and I like how one of the steps is to not panic. But I always panic. I drop the egg in and start panicking and swearing in my head and try to figure out how to get the egg white to quit spreading out so wide ……. not good. The second one turned out more successful because I stepped away to reply to some messages while the egg was cooking. I think that’s what I need to do from now on … Do not hover around the egg. Just let it be.

Anyway, I ate it along with the avocado and tomato salad, some roast beef slices, and provolone cheese. It was yum yum yum!

This week is packed full of all day classes, so I foresee less chances to cook. Hopefully I have enough leftovers to last the week, or I’ll be defaulting to my favorite fast food … Subway! Which just so happens to be on the first floor of our dorms, and that’s why it’s my favorite. Weeeeee …..

